Democracy Programs

Ammar Ahmad Waraich

Ammar Ahmed Waraich

OPT Fellow, AY 2019-2020
Minority democratic participation; challenges of democracy; economic inequality; social policy

Dr Ammar Waraich is an OPT fellow at the Ash Center. He is a recent MPP graduate from Harvard's Kennedy School of Government and was a physician in...

Read more about Ammar Ahmed Waraich
Fatima Alam

Fatima Alam

Technology and Democracy Fellow, AY 2017-2018

Fatima Alam is a Researcher on Trust and Safety at Google. Previously, as a Public Policy Analyst she advised on cartography and mapping policies,...

Read more about Fatima Alam
David  Allen

David Allen

History and Policy Fellow, AY 2016-2017

David Allen is a PhD candidate in International and Global History at Columbia University, having previously studied at Emmanuel College, Cambridge, and...

Read more about David Allen

Victoria Alsina

Visiting Democracy Fellow, AY 2018-2020
CrowdLaw, collaborative transformation. public-private collaboration

Victoria Alsina is a Democracy Fellow at the Ash Center for Democratic Governance and Innovation at the Harvard Kennedy School, where she leads research...

Read more about Victoria Alsina
Jean Arkedis

Jean Arkedis

Senior Program Director, Results for Development (R4D)
Principal Investigator, Transparency for Development (T4D)

Jean Arkedis is the senior director and practice lead for evaluation and adaptive learning (EAL) at Results for Development, ... Read more about Jean Arkedis

Mariana Batista

Democratic Governance Fellow, Fall Semester 2018

Mariana Batista is an Assistant Professor at the Federal University of Pernambuco in the Department of Political Science. In 2014, she obtained her Ph.D....

Read more about Mariana Batista
Edana Beauvais

Edana Beauvais

Democracy Visiting Fellow AY 2019 - November 2020
Political participation, gender and politics, inequalities & political exclusions

Edana Beauvais is a SSHRC Postdoctoral Researcher at the Centre for the Study of Democratic Citizenship (CSDC) at McGill...

Read more about Edana Beauvais
Simon Beste

Simon Beste

Democracy Visiting Fellow, AY 2015-2016

Simon Beste studied Political Science, History, Global Political Economy and Constitutional Law at the University of Kassel, Germany and Rutgers...

Read more about Simon Beste
Renée  Blackburn

Renée Blackburn

History and Policy Fellow, AY 2016-2017

Renée Blackburn is a PhD candidate in the History, Anthropology, and Science, Technology and Society (HASTS) program at MIT. Her dissertation examines...

Read more about Renée Blackburn
Benjamin Bradlow

Benjamin Bradlow

Visiting Democracy Fellow, AY 2019-2020
Political economy of globalization & development, urban inequalities

Benjamin Bradlow is a PhD candidate in sociology and an NSF-IGERT trainee in development and inequality at Brown University. His dissertation research...

Read more about Benjamin Bradlow