Democracy Doctoral Fellowships

Buildings and treesThe Ash Center awards two dissertation research fellowships to Harvard Kennedy School Ph.D. candidates or other Harvard University students in related fields. The aim of this fellowship is to support well-defined doctoral work from Harvard University students focused on innovations in public participation and political participation in non-democracies.

About the fellowship
Pre-doctoral fellows join the Ash Center’s academic community and participate in the Democracy Fellows weekly seminar. The fellowship affords doctoral candidates the time and space to work on completing their dissertations without the obligation of teaching at a critical time in their program. For more information about the Democracy Fellowships, see our Five-Year Retrospective.

Doctoral dissertation topics should fall within the parameters of the Center’s current focus on innovations in public participation and political participation in democracies or non-democracies. Candidates should have an excellent academic record and well-defined research objectives. Preference will be given to applicants whose projects have progressed beyond the conceptual stages of the research.

Fellows will receive a stipend of $30,000 annually and shared work space at the Ash Center.

How to Apply
The application for academic year 2018 - 2019 will be available here on July 15th and will be due by November 1, 2017. With questions please contact Hannah Hilligoss, Program and Research Assistant for the Democratic Governance Program.

Harvard is an equal opportunity employer and all qualified applicants will receive consideration for employment without regard to race, color, religion, sex, national origin, disability status, protected veteran status, gender identity, sexual orientation or any other characteristic protected by law.


Current Democracy Doctoral Fellows:

Kai Thaler, PhD candidate in the Department of Government, Harvard University
Julian Urrutia, PhD candidate in the T.H. Chan School of Public Health, Harvard University