Democracy Visiting Fellowships

The application for academic years 2019-2020 has now closed. Applications for AY 2020-2021 will be open by mid-August 2019.

The Ash Center is a vibrant and values-driven community. We are committed to diversity and welcome people of varied backgrounds, cultures, experiences, and disciplines. We actively seek applications from people of color, women, the LGBTQIA+ community, persons with disabilities and underrepresented backgrounds.

The Ash Center for Democratic Governance and Innovation invites faculty, doctoral, and postdoctoral students to apply for its Democracy Visiting Fellowships. The Ash Center aims to support research on democratic governance that addresses substantive concerns and offers normative or practical guidance regarding those concerns. For more information about the Democracy Fellowships, see our Five-Year Retrospective.


We are broadly interdisciplinary and invite scholars who use approaches from political theory and philosophy, political science, sociology, law, or history. We are especially interested in drawing scholars whose work focuses on innovations in public participation and political participation in democracies or non-democracies.


The duration of the fellowship is one academic year, from August 1 until July 31. Visiting Fellows will be expected to participate in a regular graduate workshop and engage in the activities of the Ash Center and Harvard Kennedy School more broadly. The Ash Center Visiting Fellowships do not carry a stipend, but we can offer institutional support including shared office space and physical and online library access.

How to Apply

The application for academic years 2019-2020 has now closed. Applications for AY 2020-21 will be open by mid-August 2019 and will be due October 31, 2019. If you have questions, please contact Teresa Acuña, Associate Director for Democratic Governance Programs.


- Are letters of recommendation requested as part of application?
        No, letters are not requested.

- I accidently submitted my application without completing it. Can you delete this application?
        If two applications are recieved by the same individual, we will use the last version submitted. 

- Can I make changes to my application packet after I have submitted?
        No, we are unable to make changes to your application.

Current Visiting Fellows:

Jonathan E. Collins, Ph.D., Presidential Postdoctoral Fellow and Visiting Professor of Political Science and Education, Brown University

Petra Guasti, Ph.D in Political Science, Bremen University

Markus Holdo, Ph.D. in Political Science, Uppsala University

Evan Lieberman, Total Professor of Political Science and Contemporary Africa, MIT

Maria Maroto, Ph.D. candidate at the Universidad Católica de Chile

Shane Singh, Associate Professor, School of Public and International Affairs, University of Georgia

Kristin Strømsnes, Professor at the Department of Comparative Politics, University of Bergen